animesh kumar

Running water never grows stale. Keep flowing!

Lost My Friends…

leave a comment »

Friends, Humans, coding men!
Lend me your ears.
I come here to bury my friends not to issue panegyrics.

Do I hear some peculiar strictures? Hey wait! History is not a matter of copyright conflict; neither is the funeral of my kins. No plagiarism accusations please. Few of my people have died. Few of my friends are lost. And I have every right to mourn them.
Six IT people in Chennai perish from stress. People say they were fool. Hasty in accepting stress; foolhardy for fiscal gains. They say they were ambitious.
I come here to dig the truth out; the truth of ambition, the truth of this very industry. They say they take care of their employees, their tension, their stress. I come here to shed light upon the crack STRESS crept through.

The malicious code that developers do lives after them; the good-code is oft interred with the application bones. So let it be with all those IT men. The noble compeer hath told you they were ambitious. If it were so it was a grievous fault, and grievously hath they answered it. Here, under leave of compeer and the rest (for he is an honorable man-so are they all, all honorable men) come I to speak in their funeral.

They were my friends, kind and just to me. But compeer says he was ambitious, and compeer is an honorable man. He hath brought many projects home, whose onus rested upon them. And they did it. Did this in them seem ambitious? When that the code have crashed, system tumbled, they hath wept, mustered to try again. Ambition should be made of sterner stuff. Yet compeer says he was ambitious, and compeer is an honorable man.

You all did see that on the appraisal, they were thrice presented a kingly promotion, which they did thrice refuse. Was this ambition? But compeer says he was ambitious, and sure he is an honorable man. I speak not to disprove what compeer spoke, but here I am to speak what I do know: you all did love them once, not without cause. What cause withholds you then to mourn for him?

O, judgement, thou art fled to brutish beasts and men hath lost their reason.

Bear with me, my heart is in the coffin there with all of them, and I must pause till it comes back to me.

Written by Animesh

April 22, 2005 at 11:29 pm

Posted in Diary

Leave a Reply

